Brands design marketing campaigns to promote a
specific endeavour, create awareness of the organization, or simply attract new
customers. Campaign assessment surveys offer brands a 360-degree view of how
marketing efforts affect brand value by analyzing metrics such as brand
awareness, perception, purchase intent, and more. Monitoring and tracking your
campaign's success assist brands in making smarter decisions in real-time and
plan better for the next one.
Different Types of Marketing Campaigns
- Traditional Media Campaign
When a brand relies on traditional media outlets to
enhance brand awareness or promote a service/product, then the campaign is
known as a traditional media campaign. Common mediums used for conventional
media campaigns include TV, print, radio, direct-mail advertising, or simply
putting up ads in the newspaper.
A seasonal push campaign is frequently used by
companies that experience an influx of businesses during a specific season. A
local retail store may create ads on social media or put out pamphlets of the
sale to inform customers and increase revenue.
A product launch campaign is executed by the
manufacturer with the support of distribution partners to spread awareness
about the product. For example, a shoe company launching new women sneakers
need to focus its product launch campaign for a particular age group using
social media advertising or sending emails to existing customers.
A brand awareness campaign aims to focus on or
build awareness towards building a brand by defining the value of the products
or associating the brand with a cause/message. The campaign ensures that the
target audience repeats their purchases and becomes aware of the brand.
A rebranding campaign is used by companies that
have fallen out of favor with their target audiences and wish to make a
comeback to regain the customers' trust. Besides, the organization can also use
a rebranding campaign to advertise new options for encouraging recent sales.
A brand launch campaign aims to put the
organization's story and message to the audience, amplify brand awareness, and
improve brand equity. The campaign is aimed to control the brand's narrative
and public image to differentiate a brand from its competitor.
Key Steps for Optimizing Your Marketing
Campaign
- Review your
marketing strategy
Apply the RACE (Reach, Act, Converse, Engage)
framework to plan, manage, and optimize campaigns and use the data and customer
insights to track and improve consumers' journeys. Identify challenges and
opportunities and comply with data-driven strategies to win more
customers.
- Review your campaign's objectives & KPIs
Make it a priority to set the proper context and
tone for the post-campaign analysis before connecting the dots. At the early
stage, design a brief overview of KPIs and campaign objectives to make better
sense of the data.
- Break down campaign results by channel
Marketers can go into more detail about how each
element of the campaign performed, to learn about all the different digital
activities. The report section should focus on critical channels, objectives,
KPIs, and metrics such as view thru rate, positive earned media, brand buzz,
frequency, etc.
- Provide campaign analysis take-outs
Cover main themes and take-outs from the report and
identify the main plan of action. Analyze step-change learnings alongside
continuous improvement learnings. Highlight successes and failures of the
campaigns that may require testing and further refinements.
Key Metrics to Measure Campaign Performance

- Average Click-through Rate (CTR)
Click-through rate (CTR) is an advertisement metric
that provides information about the number of impressions that clicked on the
displayed ad. The average CTR for an ad campaign offers insights into the
effectiveness of a campaign's design, ad copy, and reach. CTR is an essential
metric for every kind of business to know what works and what not in the age of
digitalization. Higher CTR indicates that your link is drawing more attention
and traffic to your site, and average CTR is a good performance indicator. On
the other hand, a low CTR means the copy or headline is ineffective, or you are
targeting the wrong demographic.
A conversion rate determines the percentage of
users that have completed a desired action. For instance, if an advertiser
posts a makeup brand ad on a social media platform like Instagram targeting
around 10,000 people, out of which 500 people click on the ad, then the
conversion rate can be calculated as
500/10000= 0.05, or a 5%
conversion rate
Conversion rate analysis reveals which channels are
most effective for promoting a product, that helps determine the effectiveness
of a campaign and guide strategic decision-making. A high conversion rate leads
to a better return on investment as the cost of acquiring a customer is low.
Whereas high bounce rates lead to lower conversion rates, thus negatively
impacting ROI.
Cost per "mille" or cost per thousand
refers to an average price for getting one thousand ad impressions. Every
website, advertising platform, and affiliate partner has different rates,
pricing structures, or bidding options for calculating CPM. While calculating
CPM is a difficult task, the metric provides excellent insights for campaign
diagnosis. Extremely high CPM means your geographic targeting is too tight, or
the ad network is struggling to find enough inventory. CPM abnormalities
indicate trouble with the content placements where you run ads. CPM is an
effective metric for estimating revenue on ads, calculating daily active user
count, or counting the average number of ad impressions for game and app
developers.
You can also use the CPM metrics to gauge interest
without breaking your advertising budget. For instance, if an ad targeting the
age group of 18-35 years is getting more engagement on an entertainment website,
you need to adjust your marketing according to the younger audience to create
interest in your product. CPM can help to achieve that.
- Marketing Qualified Leads (MQL)
Marketing Qualified Leads (MQL) are prospects that
have expressed some interest in what a brand has to offer and provide personal
details, which can be used to convert them into leads. These leads are a good
fit and more likely to become a customer. Each type of customer interaction
with the website content is assigned a lead score to help sales and marketing
personnel determine where the visitor stands in the buying cycle. Marketers
utilize lead scoring points to model a buyer's journey.
Every social media offers native analytics that you
can dive in to take relevant information. If you have a low budget, native
analytics resources can be a good starting point to analyze customer
engagement. You can capture the engagement rate through interactions such as
likes, comments, number of shares, downloads, reshares, mentions, and reposts.
A high engagement rate indicates how responsive your audience is and how many
organic followers you have.
Brand tracking measures change brand perception
over time through branded surveys or focus groups to quantify a return on brand
investment. The three most popular brand tracking methods are brand awareness,
brand association, and brand consideration. Brand awareness can be determined
with two types of measurements, unaided awareness and aided awareness. Unaided
awareness helps recognize how well consumers remember a brand without any
prompting or visuals, while aided awareness recognizes if consumer remembers
your brand with prompting.
Brand association requires asking consumers about
the brand to analyze how the brands are able to communicate the brand's
message. Brand consideration includes asking for customer's feedback to picture
a level of brand loyalty.
While some campaigns will be targeted at the
lead-in to a sales cycle, some are just about driving awareness in your target
customer's mind. Awareness metrics are hard to measure as they do not provide
tangible fiscal ROI, but they can provide a return on your investment in the
long run. Asking the consumers how they found you can help identify metrics
that do not work, which can help save up money used for additional
resources.